Wednesday 28 October 2020

HOME   >   Our Services   >   Certification – NSI GOLD and SILVER explained

/ Certification – NSI GOLD and SILVER explained

NSI has defined a 2 tier development model – Silver and Gold - to encourage the improvement of standards as companies grow in size and expand their skills base into additional areas.

NSI operates a 2 tier approach to approvals. This allows companies to grow and develop their business whilst consistently developing the NSI reassurance to their customers.  Companies can enter at either level.

Gold Approval signifies that in addition to compliance with industry specific Standards, a Company operates a Quality Management System and is compliant with BS EN 9001.

Gold and Silver Approved Companies work to the same industry specific Standards and are subject to independent regular audit by NSI to monitor compliance with those standards. The relevant standards are displayed on the Approved Company’s Certificate of Approval.

In the case of NSI Gold Approval, the Quality Management System is tuned to the specific needs of the Security and/or Fire Safety sector. This is as demanding as any Approval in the security and fire sectors in which NSI operates, and recognised by industry, the police, fire and rescue services and insurers, and other stakeholders.

NSI audits require full compliance with standards including elements which are ‘recommended’ codes of best practice. This means customers can be sure of full compliance to standards, not simply lip service.

Where NSI audits reveal shortcomings, these are documented and require companies to provide clear evidence to NSI of necessary corrective and improvement actions taken. Occasionally a company is unable or unwilling to adapt and loses its NSI Approval.







Customers can be assured in the NSI Approval their provider maintains. See the NSI Company Finder for an NSI Approved Company in your area.

If you are seeking NSI Approval for your organisation, find out which best suits your immediate needs: look at the criteria for each certification in Our Schemes

Management Systems Certification

A Management System is defined as:

‘A proven framework for managing and continually improving an organisation’s policies, procedures and processes’

Management System certifications are based on a family of internationally recognised standards designed to ensure organisations meet the needs of their customers and other stakeholders. Management Systems applications include:

  • Quality – BS EN ISO 9001
  • Environmental – BS EN ISO 14001
  • Health & Safety – BS OHSAS 18001

NSI offers a range of Management Systems Certification covering all of these.  The majority of security, fire safety and insurance companies require providers to hold some or all of these Management System Approvals, in addition to Approvals for activity/industry specific Approvals.